National Caregiver Month

Did you know November is National Caregiver Month? The Myositis Association just posted this on their Facebook page:
Thanks so much to all our TMA caregivers. Please let us know what has helped you the most in your caregiving journey. Post here (TMA’s Facebook page) or send to tma@myositis.org.
Photo: Thanks so much to all our TMA caregivers. Please let us know what has helped you the most in your caregiving journey. Post here or send to tma@myositis.org.
So I had to comment…
  • Write a comment
  • Nicole Bolger It might sound harsh, but the idea that changed my perspective on my role as caregiver was “I am not part of my husband’s disease”. As caregivers we get so used to deferring our own lives and interests to what is happening with the one we give care to. So many times people would say “how are you?” and I’d find myself immediately reporting about doctors visits or what was going on with Mo. I didn’t even think about how I was. Truthfully I was exhausted, resentful, and lonely. Separating myself from the disease, the caregiving, the things that were dragging down my spirit was my own life saver. For a while I gave up, and it helped me get through. I got some parts of myself back, and it allowed me to look with different eyes at how I want my life (and my family’s life) to be. We are all a million different things and we have a million different roles – caregiver should be one, but it can’t be the only.

    What has been a pivotal moment for you???

Leave a Reply

